New Board Members Appointed - Outgoing Members Appreciated

On June 29, 2018, the Supreme Court of Texas appointed four new members to the Board: Mike Gregory of Dallas, Michael C. Gross of San Antonio, Kelli Hinson of Dallas, and Nancy J. Stone of Amarillo and reappointed members David M. González of Austin and Mike Mills of McAllen who were first appointed in 2015 and will serve another three-year term. All terms begin September 1, 2018.  A copy of the Misc. Docket No. 18-9088 may be found here. 

Outgoing members David N. Kitner of Dallas, Ramon Luis Echevarria II of Houston and George A. Taylor of San Antonio devoted six years of very hard work to the attorney grievance system and Wendy-Adele Humphrey of Lubbock gave the Board three years of excellence. Words cannot express our sincere appreciation for their dedication.

Mike Gregory of Denton has been board certified in Family Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization for over 40 years. He is a trained mediator, arbitrator, and collaborative lawyer. Mr. Gregory was named a Texas Super Lawyer in alternative dispute resolution from 2013–present and in family law from 2002–2012 He served on the board of trustees of the Collaborative Law Institute of Texas from 2003 until 2007 and was president of the Denton County Collaborative Professionals from 2005 until 2009. He is a sustaining life fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation and a life member of the Texas Family Law Foundation. He served on the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors from 2008 until 2011. He is a past president of the Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists. He is a member of the Dallas County Bar Association and the Denton County Bar Association and served as its president from 1983–1984. He received his J.D. and a B.B.A. (finance) from the University of Texas at Austin. He served in the United States Marine Corps as a judge advocate from 1970–1974. He was appointed to the Board in 2018.

Michael C. Gross is a partner in Gross & Esparza, P.L.L.C. in San Antonio, Texas. He graduated from Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas, in 1984 and received his J.D. from St. Mary’s University, San Antonio, Texas, in 1987. He served as a judge advocate in the United States Marine Corps from 1988–1992. He is board certified in criminal trial advocacy by the National Board of Trial Advocacy and is board certified in criminal law and criminal appellate law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He was named Defender of the Year by the San Antonio Criminal Defense Lawyers Association in 2008 and again in 2009. He served as president of the San Antonio Criminal Defense Lawyers Association in 2011. He currently serves as an officer with the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association. He was appointed to the Board of Disciplinary Appeals in 2018.

Kelli Hinson is a partner in the Dallas law firm of Carrington Coleman Sloman & Blumenthal, LLP and serves as the firm’s General Counsel. She practices in the areas of commercial litigation and professional liability, representing law firms, hospitals, companies, and the professionals who run them. She received a BBA, summa cum laude, from McMurry University and a JD, magna cum laude, from Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law, where she was a member of the SMU Law Review and Order of the Coif. Ms. Hinson was a member of the District 6 Grievance Committee of the State Bar of Texas from 2017–2018 and has served as chair of the Dallas Bar Association Legal Ethics Committee. She was appointed to BODA in 2018.

Nancy J. Stone practices complex commercial law in Amarillo. She received a B.S. with honors from the University of Texas, a master of science degree from the University of Houston and a J.D. from South Texas College of Law where she was a member of Phi Delta Phi and the South Texas Law Journal, 1982–1983. Ms. Stone is a member of the Amarillo Bar Association and the State Bar of Texas.  She is a past member of the Civil Justice Reform Act Advisory Committee; the American Bar Association; Texas Trial Lawyers Association; and The Association of Trial Lawyers of America. Ms. Stone was appointed to the Board in 2018.