New Board Members Appointed and Outgoing Members Appreciated

The Supreme Court of Texas appointed William W. (Bill) Ogden of Houston, Rudy K. Metayer of Austin and Cindy V. Tisdale of Granbury to the Board of Disciplinary Appeals on August 21, 2020.  All terms began September 1, 2020.  A copy of the Misc. Docket No. 20-9099 can be found here.

William W. (Bill) Ogden is Of Counsel to Kean Miller, L.L.P. in Houston.  He has had a trial and appellate practice in Houston since 1977, originally as a partner in a predecessor firm to Locke Lord, then as a founding partner in his own firm, Ogden, Gibson, Broocks & Hall, for 25 years before its merger with Kean Miller.  He has been Board Certified in Civil Appellate Law since 1996 and has been named to Woodward-White’s “Best Lawyers in America” in First Amendment Law since 1991.  He has previously served as a Director, District 4, State Bar of Texas (2008-11), and served two terms as a Trustee of the Texas Center for Legal Ethics (2013-19).  He is a sustaining life fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation and the Houston Bar Foundation.  Mr. Ogden has both his undergraduate degree (B.A. Mathematics with highest honors 1973) and law degree (J.D. with honors 1977) from the University of Texas at Austin.  He was appointed to the Board in 2020.

Rudy K. Metayer of Austin is a civil litigator at Chamberlain McHaney, PLLC. He is the Chair of the African-American Lawyers Section of the State Bar of Texas and a Fellow to the Texas Bar Foundation, in addition to numerous other past and present leadership positions within the legal profession.  He has been the recipient of numerous awards recognizing his service to the Bar, the legal profession, and the community, including Texas Young Lawyers Association President’s Award of Merit in 2016, Greater Austin Black Chamber of Commerce Advocate of the Year in 2017, Travis County Recognition of Service Award in 2018, Austin Bar Association Outstanding Young Lawyer in 2019, and the LBJ School of Public Affairs Outstanding Young Alumni “Rising Leader” Award in 2019.  He served on the District 9 grievance committee of the State Bar of Texas from 2013 to 2020, during which time he served as a panel chair.  In the community, he was elected to the City Council of the City of Pflugerville in 2017 and serves the community through a number of other civic engagements.  He received a B.A., Masters, and J.D. from the University of Texas at Austin. Mr. Metayer was appointed to the Board in 2020.

Cindy V. Tisdale practices family law at the Law Office of Cindy V. Tisdale, PLLC in Granbury and is Of Counsel with Lynch, Chappell & Alsup, P.C. in Midland. She graduated from Baylor University and Baylor University School of Law. Cindy is Board Certified in Family Law from the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. She is a fellow in the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers, a fellow in the International Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers, and a sustaining life member of the Texas Bar Foundation. Cindy has served the Bar in numerous capacities including as Chair of the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors, Chair of the Family Law Section of the State Bar of Texas, Chair of the Texas Bar Foundation, Vice Chair of the Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists, member of the American Board of Trial Advocates, and a member of the Texas Bar College. She was appointed to the Board in 2020.

Outgoing members Kathy Kinser of Dallas, Mike McKetta of Austin, and Deborah Pullum of Tyler devoted six years of very hard work to the attorney grievance system.  Words cannot express our sincere appreciation for their dedication.

David Gonzalez of Austin will serve the Board as Chair and Kelli Hinson of Dallas will serve as Vice Chair for 2020-2021.